PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of leaving my church...

Brown and Reformed
12-09-2010, 12:25 PM
Hi All, Noob here. I am loving this forum as I have found much encouragement here. I thought I would go ahead and post my prayer request in this forum as I am in the middle of deciding to leave my church.

Here's the short of it....

I was just doing some general reading on Holyculture.net and saw someone commenting on a post that a guy Xavier Pickett wrote on Facebook regarding the need for someone to do a study on why Reformed churches keep black women (and men) single and lonely, etc... Because of the culture and other issues that arise. That so many black women in these situations who have resigned themselves to lifelong singleness because of it.

The sad thing about his post is that for me and the black women in my church, this is entirely true.

I attend a Reformed Baptist church in the NoVa/DC area. I became a member in 2009 and have been there for over a year. At first, I was naÔve to think that because this was a Gospel-preaching church, and although predominately white, certainly I can also find a husband and family here, but my primary focus was learning about the Gospel. At the time, I could not find a suitable Gospel-centered church in my hometown and after a year, and some investigation, decided that I would move here to attend this church.