PDA

View Full Version : The Faithful Preacher:Recapturing the Vision of 3 Pioneering African-American Pastors



StreetSermonz
03-03-2007, 03:00 PM
I thought some of yall might enjoy this, it is an online book that just came out, written by Thabiti M. Anyabwile:

http://www.gnpcb.org/product/1581348274/contents#extra

Here is the book description:


Puritans have been portrayed in many ways throughout our nation’s history, but few writers have recognized the existence of puritans within the tradition of African-American Christianity. In The Faithful Preacher: Recapturing the Vision of Three Pioneering African-American Pastors, Thabiti Anyabwile offers a compelling biography of three black pastors. The lives of these men, spanning more than 150 years, were built upon a high and biblical view of pastoral ministry; unfortunately, their names have been held in relative obscurity. Enter Thabiti Anyabwile.

Xegesis aka Q-D.O.G.
03-03-2007, 03:17 PM
ahhhhh...i've been waiting for that to come out...can't wait to pick it up. i think it is going to be a great tool for reformation in preaching and pastoring in african american churches .

thanks for letting the board know about it -

eternal
03-03-2007, 03:26 PM
Here is a good book from my Church's tradition:

http://www.anderson.edu/aupress/masseybook2.jpg

**edit**

Sorry I didn't include a link. I can't find much online. My dad bought it for me at his seminaries library where he is working on his doctorate.

http://www.amazon.com/African-Americans-Church-James-Massey/dp/0964668254/ref=sr_1_1/103-0026328-7883825?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1172954258&sr=8-1

http://www.anderson.edu/aupress/massey.html

Xegesis aka Q-D.O.G.
03-03-2007, 03:34 PM
Here is a good book from my Church's tradition:

http://www.anderson.edu/aupress/masseybook2.jpg

eternal, can't see the title of the book well - can you give a link to it?